U.S. Disaster Programs Overview

The U.S. Department of Agriculture offers several permanently authorized programs to help farmers recover financially from a natural disaster, including Federal Crop Insurance, the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP), Emergency Disaster Loans, Emergency Livestock and Fisheries Assistance, and Biomass Crop Assistance, most of which are contingent upon issuance of a USDA Emergency Disaster Declaration. The federal crop insurance program is designed to protect crop producers from unavoidable risks associated with adverse weather, and weather-related plant diseases and insect infestations. Click on links below to see USDA fact sheets about each program.

USDA Adjusted Gross Income Limits 2009-2012

The 2008 Farm Bill required the implementation of the average Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) limitations for program eligibility for the 2009 through 2012 program years. The average AGI provisions are applicable to the majority of programs administered by the Farm Service Agency (FSA) and Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).

USDA Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program

USDA's Farm Service Agency's Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) provides financial assistance to producers of noninsurable crops when low yields, loss of inventory or prevented planting occur due to natural disasters. Click here to view the NAP Fast Facts document.

USDA Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program

SURE provides benefits for 2008 through 2011 crop year farm revenue losses due to natural disasters. It is the 2008 Farm Bill's successor to prior ad hoc crop disaster programs.

Other federal resources:

USDA, AMS, Specialty Crops Program
Specialty Crops Inspection Division
Fiscal Year 2015 Summary