REMINDER OF MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE
Remember, effective May 2, 2005, Florida's minimum
wage is $6.15 per hour. Employers must pay employees at least
a wage of $6.15 per hour for all hours worked in Florida. The
definitions of "employer," "employee," and
"wage" are those established under the federal Fair
Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
Employees who are not paid the minimum wage may
bring a civil action in court against the employer or any person
violating Florida's minimum wage law. The state attorney general
may also bring an enforcement action to enforce the minimum wage.
As stated in the Florida Constitution, the case law, administrative
interpretations, and other guiding standards under the FLSA should
be the guide regarding the construction of Florida's constitutional
amendment creating the minimum wage. The Act does not require
any new wage and hour posters. The one you presently have stating
the federal minimum wage of $5.15 per hour is still required.
ALSO IN THIS WEEK'S RAP-UP
(Members-Only articles are indicated in bold.)