- REMINDER OF FLORIDA'S MINIMUM WAGE
- The Agency for Workforce Innovation recently
announced that Florida's minimum wage will be $6.40 per hour effective January
1, 2006 for all hours worked in Florida. This represents an increase of 25 cents
over the current state minimum wage of $6.15 per hour.
minimum wage was created in a constitutional amendment approved by voters on November
2, 2004, and covers all employees in the state covered by the federal minimum
- Pursuant to the language of
the state constitutional amendment, the Agency for Workforce Innovation is to
perform an annual calculation to establish a new minimum wage each year.
- The constitution also requires the adjusted
minimum wage to be published. The increase in the minimum wage this year represents
a four percent change in the federal consumer price index for urban wage earners
and clerical workers in the South Regional for the 12-month period prior to September
1, 2005. Florida's new minimum wage will be $1.25 more than the current $5.15
federal minimum wage.
- Employers must
pay their employees a wage not less than the amount of the hourly state minimum
wage for all hours worked in Florida.
definitions of "employer," "employee," and "wage"
for state purposes are the same as those established under the federal Fair Labor
Standards Act (LSA).
IN THIS WEEK'S RAP-UP
articles are indicated in bold.)